Play-in pairings will be determined when curtain falls on the regular season

Play-in pairings will be determined when curtain falls on the regular season

#Playin #pairings #determined #curtain #falls #regular #season Welcome to InNewCL, here is the new story we have for you today:

Click Me To View Restricted Videos

Photo: Basketball Champions League

MIES (Switzerland) – The play-in matchups that will determine which teams earn the last eight spots in the Basketball Champions League round of 16 were confirmed Wednesday night after the conclusion of the regular season.

Each of the 16 teams that finished in either second or third place in their respective regular season groups will go head-to-head in a best-of-three play-in series. Second-placed teams have home advantage in each series:

UCAM Murcia (ESP; 2nd in Group A) vs. Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR; 3rd in Group B)
AEK (GRE; 2nd in Group B) vs Tofas Bursa (TUR; 3rd in Group A)
Hapoel Atsmon Holon (ISR; 2nd in Group C) vs Igokea m:tel (BIH; 3rd in Group D)
Bahcesehir College (TUR; 2nd in Group D) vs. Filou Oostende (BEL; 3rd in Group C)
MHP RIESEN (GER; 2nd in Group E) vs. Limoges CSP (FRA; 3rd in Group F)
SL Benfica (POR; 2nd in Group F) vs. Darüssafaka (TUR; 3rd in Group E)
JDA Bourgogne Dijon (FRA; 2nd in Group G) vs. Peristeri (GRE; 3rd in Group H)
Rytas Vilnius (LTU; 2nd in Group H) vs. PAOK mateco (GRE; 3rd in Group G) Game 1 of each play-in series will take place on either Tuesday 3 January or Wednesday 4 January 2023 will take place, along with the second games, which will take place on January 10th and 11th. Any series that is 1-1 after the first two games ends on June 17/18. January with a tiebreak. Exact dates and times will be confirmed at a later date.

The first eight tickets to the Round of 16 have already found their rightful owners as the teams that won their respective regular-season groups deserved a direct seat: SIG Strasbourg (FRA; Group A winners); Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER; winner group B); Galatasaray Nef (TUR; Group C winner); Surne Bilbao (ESP; Group D winner); Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR; Group E winner); BAXI Manresa (ESP; Group F winner); Unicaja (ESP; Group G winner); Lenovo Tenerife (ESP; Group H winner)

Once these teams are joined by the winners of the play-in games, the 16 teams will be divided into four groups of four teams each. The composition of the four round of 16 groups will be determined by the draw as follows:

GROUP I: SIG Strasbourg; Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem; Hapoel Atsmon Holon OR Igokea m:tel; JDA Bourgogne Dijon OR Peristeri
GROUP J: Telekom Baskets Bonn; BAXI Manresa; Bahcesehir College OR Filou Ostend; Rytas Vilnius OR PAOK mateco
GROUP K: Galatasaray Nef; Unicaja; AEK OR Tofas Bursa; MHP GIANT OR Limoges CSP
GROUP L: Surne Bilbao; Lenovo Tenerife; UCAM Murcia OR Pinar Karsiyaka; SL Benfica OR Darussafaka

The round of 16 is scheduled to start on January 24 and will be played in a round-robin format in home and away matches (as was the case in the regular season format). The exact time and date of each game will be confirmed after the 16-team field is complete.

The two teams that finish in the first two places in each group qualify for the Quarterfinals.

Click Here To Continue Reading From Source

Related Articles

Back to top button