Nadal & Swiatek Nominated for Laureus World Sports Awards 2023 | ATP Tour

Nadal & Swiatek Nominated for Laureus World Sports Awards 2023 | ATP Tour

#Nadal #Swiatek #Nominated #Laureus #World #Sports #Awards #ATP #Tour Welcome to InNewCL, here is the new story we have for you today:

Click Me To View Restricted Videos

Rafael Nadal, Carlos Alcaraz, Iga Swiatek and Elena Rybakina have been nominated for the 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards.

The Laureus Awards is a prestigious ceremony held on behalf of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation. Every spring, they honor the world’s best athletes for their achievements in the previous calendar year with awards in eight categories.

Nadal enjoyed a historic 2022, winning the Australian Open and Roland Garros to rise to a then-record 22 Grand Slam titles. The 36-year-old also picked up trophies at an ATP 250 in Melbourne and an ATP 500 in Acapulco, finishing the year as world No. 2. The Spaniard was nominated for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award.

WTA World No. 1 Swiatek clinched eight titles in 2022, including Major crowns at Roland Garros and the US Open. The 21-year-old is one of six nominees in the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year category, who has also won trophies at WTA 1000 events in Indian Wells, Miami and Rome.

The Official Tennis App |  Download the ATP WTA Live app

Spaniard Alcaraz and WTA star Rybakina are nominated for the Breakthrough of the Year Award. Alcaraz, 19, won two ATP Masters 1000 crowns and claimed his first major title at the US Open. He also became the youngest-ever world No. 1 in Pepperstone ATP ranking history (since 1973). 23-year-old WTA star Rybakina won her first Grand Slam at Wimbledon.

The winners will be determined by 71 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy. Categories include Female Athlete of the Year, Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year, Breakthrough of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Action Athlete of the Year and Disabled Athlete of the Year. The nominations in these categories come from the 1400 members of our Global Media Panel.

More stories like this in:

Click Here To Continue Reading From Source

Related Articles

Back to top button